Jonathan Burton elected as the new Chair of RPS Scottish Pharmacy Board

The Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) has announced the results of the elections to vacant positions on the RPS Scottish and English Country Boards that took
place at the meeting on June 18.

The Scottish Pharmacy Board elected Jonathan Burton, FRPharmS, as their new Chair and Audrey Thompson to the RPS Assembly, the organisation’s governing body.

Jonathan is a community pharmacist and an independent prescriber affiliated with the Right Medicine Pharmacy group in Stirling. He has played an integral role in
the inception, development and delivery of Pharmacy First services in Scotland.

He is an RPS Fellow and received an MBE in 2018 for services to healthcare. Jonathan is also the recipient of the 2023 RPS Charter Award. He previously served as
Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board from 2019 to 2021.

“Serving as Chair is a great privilege,” said Jonathan while expressing his delight at being elected as the Chair of the Scottish Pharmacy Board.